Retention rules in cloud cleanup plans

The retention rules in a cloud cleanup plan delete individual backups in the orphaned archives. If the rules require deleting all backups in an archive, the plan deletes the entire archive.

  • Backup age

    The plan deletes the backups that are older than the specified age. If all backups in the archive are older, the plan deletes the entire archive. If you select Always keep the latest backup, the plan keeps the latest backup instead.

  • Number of backups

    The plan keeps the specified number of the most recent backups and deletes the older backups. If you specify 0, the plan deletes the entire archive.

  • Backup size

    Starting from the most recent backup, the plan keeps the backups whose total size does not exceed the specified size, and deletes the older backups. If the most recent backup is larger than the specified size, the plan deletes the entire archive. If you select Always keep the latest backup, the plan keeps the latest backup instead.

Unlike the retention rules in a protection plan, which always keep the most recent backup, a cloud cleanup plan can delete all backups in an archive.