Creating a cloud cleanup plan
A cloud cleanup plan runs on the cloud agent and deletes orphaned Microsoft 365 archives that are stored in the cloud storage. The plan runs once a day. Local cleanup plans can also delete backups in the cloud storage, but they do not delete cloud-to-cloud backups.
You can add each backup location to only one cleanup plan.
Users at the partner level do not see the Cloud cleanup plans tab.
To create a cloud cleanup plan
- In the Cyber Protect console, go to Management > Cleanup > Cloud cleanup plans.
- Click Create plan.
-
To change the default plan name, for example, New cleanup plan (1), click the pencil icon next to the name, and then enter a new name.
-
To select the items for the cleanup, click Items to clean up.
- Select the Locations tab to include entire backup locations, or the Backups tab to include specific archives.
- Click Add, and then select the locations or archives.
- Click Done.
Microsoft 365 Backup Storage is not available because its backups are stored on the Microsoft side. The plan deletes only the orphaned Microsoft 365 archives in the selected items.
-
To configure exclusions, click Exclusions.
- In the Exclude archives dialog box, select the archives that the plan must not delete.
- Click Select.
The Exclusions row appears only when you select locations in Items to clean up. You can exclude up to 1,000 archives.
-
To keep the exclusions that the plan removed after you changed the selected items, do the following:
When you change the selected locations, or switch to specific archives, the plan removes the exclusions that no longer apply, and a notification shows the number of removed exclusions.
- In the notification, click Show details.
- In the Removed items dialog box, select the exclusions that you want to keep.
- Click Revert selected.
-
To configure the retention rules, click Retention rules.
- In the How long to keep dialog box, select one of the tabs, and then specify the rule.
-
On the Backup age or Backup size tab, select the Always keep the latest backup checkbox.
- Click Save.
For more information about how the retention rules delete backups, see Retention rules in cloud cleanup plans.
-
To add passwords for encrypted archives, click Encrypted archive passwords.
-
Specify the passwords on one or both of the following tabs:
- Passwords – use this tab when you do not know which password belongs to which archive. Enter up to 10 passwords. The plan tries each password on the selected encrypted archives until one matches. In Description, you can describe each password. To remove a password, click the X icon next to it.
- Archives – use this tab when you know the password of a specific archive. Enter the password next to the archive, and then click Check to verify it. To verify the passwords of all archives, click Check all.
- Click Save.
-
- In the upper-right corner of the plan, click Save.